Research Step One: Finding Your Purpose

Believe it or not, sitting down at a computer and putting my thoughts on paper can sometimes feel like the monster in the closet that every five year old is afraid of. Despite the fact that I love to write, and that I generally feel like I am good at it, it is the time in between gathering my thoughts and actually typing them out that beats me up. I dread having to sit down at the computer and put in the work. It may be due to laziness, or fear of getting it wrong, but at the end of the day I’m never excited to write something until I’m actually finished with it.

I share this because I’m about to embark on a series about the research process, and the past six months of work that I have put into my senior research project have been the most terrifying, and exciting, moments of my college coursework. In the next few posts, I will be discussing how to apply, conduct, and present research. I will share my personal experiences of my research and also try to inform my readers how to do everything from start to finish. So we begin!

While most people might think that the first step to beginning a research project is picking a topic, I am here to disagree. I believe the first step to starting any serious research is to find a purpose. Having a purpose for your research will guide you in finding a topic, deciding on a timeline, working with a budget, and generally giving you momentum throughout the project. For me, my project actually had more than one purpose.

First, as a senior in the psychology program at LMU, I am required to conduct a research project, write a paper on it, and later present my work at an academic conference. While I have been really excited for this since I entered the program, a more pressing force led me to my second purpose. My first half of my junior year, it became clear to me that I would need to supplement my income in order to be able to complete my summer internship and still have money to survive. In the middle of searching for part-time jobs, my advisor happened to send me a link to the Appalachian College Association Colonel B. Ledford Scholarship Application. It seemed absolutely perfect! The Ledford Scholarship is a program that pays students to conduct a summer research project of their own making, and then later present at the ACA Annual Summit, where research is presented. I spent the next three months working on a personal statement, a project budget, and an introduction to my research that also explained what I would like to gain from doing it. Last February I was awarded the scholarship and from there my project had purpose.

Keep in mind, anything can give a project purpose. It could be a school requirement, a scholarship, a need to share your ideas, or even just a sincere interest in a topic. Ideally, it will be a combination of all of those elements that will lead you to start with questions, and end with a new found answer. Find a purpose and let it fuel you, because I can attest that as gratifying as my research has been, it also requires dedication and commitment.

For this series, I will be posting every week, so stay tuned for next Tuesday when I will discuss picking a topic! Any questions? Feel free to comment below or send me an email!

Posted on September 9, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

