My Five-Year Plan

I am not an indecisive person. I’ve known what I want to do with my life since high school, I have been with the same man for four years, and when making decisions I usually think them through and then commit to them for the long-term. So, if someone off the street asks me what I want to do with the next five years of my life, I have an answer for them. It’s not that I don’t acknowledge that my life will change, but I am the girl with a plan. It makes me feel secure to have an idea of what I want out of life. I am not implying that those of you who have no idea what you want are weird people, or even abnormal. In fact, I often feel like the odd-one-out in this college playground. Without further ado, here is my five-year plan!

suspiciously-evil-sloth-meme-generator-hehehehe-all-is-according-to-plan-0229e8

Year One: Senior Year of College

This summer, I will log 250 hours for my Practicum in Gerontology. A practicum is basically an internship that requires a smaller time commitment. This means I will be working in a geriatric setting in Knoxville. At the same time, I will also be conducting research involving music therapy as a treatment for depression in various assisted living facilities in Knoxville. Once the fall semester begins, I will begin my last set of actual classes at LMU. Then, in the spring, my time is solely devoted to two different internship positions to fulfill the requirements of my major. All I can say about this is: I AM SUPER EXCITED. I have absolutely loved LMU and learning in the classroom setting, but I cannot wait to begin hands-on training in my field. At the end of my senior year, I plan to walk that graduation stage and proudly display that I earned my degree.

Year Two: Get a Job. Get Married.

First on the agenda is getting a job. My tactics for this is to have an awesome resumè ready and sent out shortly before graduation, and to think outside the box. Of course I want to work with the elderly, but this could mean anything from working in a hospital, to a non-profit agency, to working in a research facility. I am ready and willing to take my degree as far as I can, and I think this involves thinking outside the box. Just because I am a psychology major doesn’t mean I need to be a counselor. Next, Jared and I are planning to get married sometime after that. In case you are wondering, I am not engaged. So you may be thinking, “Isn’t she a little ahead of herself?” What most people don’t see is that we have been dating for four years. By the time marriage comes around, we would have been dating for six years. Even though we are young, we are serious and have a plan to spend our lives together. I don’t condone young marriage for everyone, but I believe every relationship is different and should not be judged. Rather, do all you can to support your loved ones.

Year Three: Study and Save

My hope is to attend graduate school about two years after graduation. Jared will receive his nuclear engineering degree then, and once he begins working we will have enough income for me to stop working (or work part-time) and begin graduate school. Until that time, I plan to spend year three saving up for graduate school and studying for the GRE (Graduate Record Exam), which is the entry test that many graduate schools require a certain score for. Year three may be my favorite, because I will spend it making a home for Jared and I, studying, and gaining experience in my field.

Year Four: Graduate School

I am not completely sure whether I will attend graduate school in person or online. My options for earning a Master’s in Gerontology are geographically limited, and what I will do depends on where Jared is able to get a job, whether I keep a job, and where we are living at the time. Either way, I am excited to further my studies and be in a financial situation where graduate school is possible.

Year Five: Graduate School and Building a Home

In the last leg of my five-year plan, I hope to finish graduate school and also begin plans to build a home for Jared and me. We would like to build our own home. Even though we will in no way be done with it in year five, I would love to have the plans finalized.

So there it is: my five-year plan. Having these plans makes me excited for my future, but I also try to remember that things do not always go according to plan. What I think is important is that I have these goals. Even if they don’t happen on time, these are major goals I have for my life, and I plan to work towards them until they happen.

If you’re not sure what you want for yourself in the next five years, it is okay! Many don’t! What I would advise is that you start thinking about it, and maybe even form a few goals. Goals drive people, and promote growth.

If you have any questions or would like to discuss your own plan (or lack thereof) feel free to comment below, or email me at ashley.pritt@lmuent.edu !

 

Posted on January 17, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds like an awesom plan to me. Love you lots, Momason

Leave a Reply

