Lazy Time with Ashley

As many of you can probably speak to, college students do not typically have a ton of free time. As I have progressed through my college career, I have found myself becoming more and more involved within the community and specifically LMU. Yet, I love it! I am the type of person that relishes in having a packed planner that lays out my day-to-day schedule of classes, work in the Tagge, and sorority events. Knowing what I am supposed to do every day helps me to feel focused and driven.

On the flip side of Ashley, I am a lazy girl. Granted, my definition of lazy may not match everyone’s definition of lazy, but for me taking a few hours to have some downtime is a love/hate kind of thing. On one hand, I completely love laying around and doing whatever I please. On the other hand, my natural personality drives me to constantly be completing some kind of task. That is why, when I am typically having what I call “Lazy Time,” I am usually completing something at the same time. Here is a list of my favorite things!

Movies:

Yes, I love movies! (Who doesn’t?) Specifically, I love sappy, ridiculous, cry-into-your-pint-of-ice cream-movies. Some of my favorites include: P.S. I Love You, Forrest Gump, The Time Traveler’s Wife, and Hitch. In addition to just plain old romance, I do of course love the romantic comedies, anything involving Will Smith, and I actually really enjoy musicals. Now, you may be thinking, “What is she accomplishing?” Well, finishing a movie is an accomplishment! I just devoted two hours of my life to the lives and woes of these fictional characters, and believe me, I am not a passive movie watcher. I relate to the characters on a deep level and become totally absorbed, so DON’T TALK DURING THE MOVIE!

Love him!

Love him!

Reading:

Reading is another way that I spend my lazy time. Since I was a little girl, my parents struggled with the fact that I could sit for hours completely lost in a book. During the summertime I would find a spot in our field and read all day long, and my parents were always concerned that I wasn’t playing enough! Eventually, I think they realized that reading habits weren’t the worst thing a child could get into, so they encouraged it, even if they thought it was a bit abnormal. Now that I am in college, I don’t have near as much time to read for fun, so when I do get free time I read like a champ. Over Christmas break I finished almost two books from the Game of Thrones series, and now I’m on the last book that has been published. Back to the completing thing, finishing a book is such a success for me. While I am not always happy for the book to be over, I do feel a sense of accomplishment.

Story of my life...

Story of my life…

Knitting:

You may be thinking, “Who knits in college?” Well, my sophomore year I began knitting because I needed cheap presents to give to my family for Christmas. Being on the college girl budget, I knew it would have to be homemade presents, but I wanted to find something that would actually be useful for them. I taught myself how to knit via Youtube that September, and it took me about month to finish my first scarf, but after that I could pop out a hat in two days and a scarf in about three. Needless to say, everyone got a hat or scarf for Christmas that year! Since then, I have tried out different projects. There is so much you can do! So far all I have done is hats, scarves, and a baby blanket, but I have really enjoyed trying out new patterns and techniques. The best part about learning how to knit was that soon after I began everyone in the sorority house began to pick up either knitting or crocheting!  Even more than that, knitting taught me patience. I am not a very patient person, but when I taught myself I probably restarted the same scarf about ten times before I was satisfied. To this day, Jared still wears that scarf, despite the fact that one half is full of holes and lopsided, and the other half is pristine.

My last creation took me about two hours!

My last creation took me about two hours!

Obviously, I don’t have the most exciting hobbies in the world, but these things make up who I am. Most people see me when I am always on the go, but there is a side of me that relishes in a lazy Saturday filled with movies and knitting. These are parts of my college experience that I would never take back.

What do you do in your free time? Are you a mountain climber, Netflix-watcher, or even a knitter like me? Let me know in the comments below!

Posted on March 28, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. All of the above! I don’t really have “downtime” either. Just this evening I’m going to a colleagues leaving party, a gig and planing some knitting time even after a day in the office. Whoop for keeping a full schedule.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 323 other followers

